Chat panel

From Guild Wars 2 Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Chat panel

The chat panel allows you to send messages to other players, communicate with large groups, and displays various in-game messages in real-time.

Available channels[edit]

Player channels[edit]

Shortcut Command Channel activated Seen by... Color
/g /guild Guild Active guild gold
/s
/l
/say
/local
Say Nearby persons green
/m
/y
/sh
/map
/yell
/shout
Map Current Map pale red
/p /party Party Current party blue
/d /squad Squad Current squad yellow
/t /team Team Active team (WvW & sPvP only) bright red
/t
/w
/r
/tell
/whisper
/reply
Private Sends private message
/r replies to last whisper name
purple

Status messages[edit]

Channel Color Information displayed
NPCs Lime green and gray Dialogue from nearby NPCs.
Combat White and gray Incoming and outgoing damage, healing and interrupts.
Emotes Gray Displays emotes used by players or NPCs. Emotes used by an NPC on a player character usually appear only on that player's chat log.
Game messages Yellow-green Items obtained, friend list updates, story messages, etc.
System messages Chartreuse Looking For Group tool messages, screenshots saved.
Error messages Red Error messages such as "Inventory full", "skill recharging", "Cannot use waypoint while in combat", etc...
Server messages Yellow Messages provided by the server that cannot be hidden on any panel, such as warnings regarding game updates and map status messages such as those from meta events.

Other information[edit]

  • One chat line is limited to 199 characters.
  • The chat panel can save up to 5 tabs.
  • If you send messages too frequently (unspecified), subsequent messages will be blocked for an undetermined (and possibly variable) length of time with "Your message was suppressed due to excessive messaging." displayed in your chat window.
  • Trial accounts can not use /map chat.
  • Trial accounts can only whisper players who have added the trial account holder to their friend list.

Notes[edit]

After a loading screen it is possible to create an extra tab, but it will not be saved. If that 6th tab is closed, it will not be possible to create a 6th tab again until the next loading screen.

See also[edit]